Skip to main content

Centre of African Studies: People

Search

People

Associates

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Kenneth Amaeshi Senior Lecturer in Strategy & International Business 2.16 
+44 (0) 131 650 2146
Kenneth.Amaeshi@ed.ac.uk
Davies Banda Programme Director: BSc (Hons) Sport & Recreation Management; Senior Teaching Fellow in Sport Management and Development. Institute for Sport, Physical Education and Health Sciences (ISPEHS) Moray House School of Education  davies.banda@ed.ac.uk
Alan Barnard Professor Emeritus; Honorary Professorial Fellow; formerly Professor of the Anthropology of Southern Africa Southern Africa,Hunter gatherers,Human origins,Origins of language,Archaeology and anthropology,History of anthropology  A.Barnard@ed.ac.uk
Celeste-Marie Bernier Professor of Black Studies and Personal Chair in English Literature  Celeste-Marie.Bernier@ed.ac.uk
Lizelle Bisschoff Theatre Film and Television Studies, University of Glasgow  Lizelle.Bisschoff@glasgow.ac.uk
Sara Rich Dorman Senior Lecturer in Politics; Director of Undergraduate Teaching (DUGT) in PIR African Politics,nationalism and the post-colonial state in Africa,Citizenship and belonging,Elections,State formation 4.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4239
Sara.Dorman@ed.ac.uk
Lawrence Dritsas Lecturer Science & technology studies,History of science,Colonial/imperial history,Decolonisation,global histories of science technology and medicine,Scottish history,Missionary Encounter Top floor A.4 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 4011
L.Dritsas@ed.ac.uk
Emma Hunter Senior Lecturer in African History, School of History, Classics and Archaeology  Emma.Hunter@ed.ac.uk
Joost Fontein Lecturer in Social Anthropology 5.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3861
J.Fontein@ed.ac.uk
Anne Griffiths Professor of Anthropology of Law School of Law Old College
South Bridge
+44 (0)131 650 2057
Anne.Griffiths@ed.ac.uk
Johanna Holtan Program Manager, MasterCard Foundation Scholars Program at Edinburgh University  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
0131 651 1324
johanna.holtan@ed.ac.uk
Astrid Jamar Transitional justice,Peace and conflict,Human rights,Peace and reconciliation processes,Truth Commissions,Gacaca Courts,International cooperation and development aid,Political settlements,Anthropology of development,Legal anthropology,Transitional Justice Practitioners,African Great Lakes region,Rwanda,Burundi,Emotions and Knowledge Production in War-Affected Research Environments  15 Buccleuch Place
Astrid.Jamar@ed.ac.uk
Laura Jeffery Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology; Associate Dean (Research Ethics), College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences Forced displacement,Migration studies,Environmental anthropology,Environmental Sociology,Indian Ocean studies,Anthropology of Britain,Mauritius,Chagos islanders,Critical heritage studies,Environment and society,Conservation and development,Human-environment relations,Maldives,Seychelles,Roads and infrastructure,connective infrastructure 5.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (131) 651 3860
laura.jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Stephen Kaye MasterCard Foundation Scholars Program Practice Program Officer 4.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 650 4082
Stephen.Kaye@ed.ac.uk
Derek MacLeod Partnerships Manager for the MasterCard Foundation Scholars Program  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
0131 650 4296
Derek.MacLeod@ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Marsland Head of Social Anthropology; Senior Lecturer Medical Anthropology,Tanzania,East Africa,Funerals,International development,HIV and AIDS,Witchcraft,Human-animal relationships,Bees,Veterinary Anthropology 5.06 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3864
R.Marsland@ed.ac.uk
Teresa Poeta Swahili,Swahili Literature,Languages,Linguistics,Mozambique  Teresa.Poeta@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Colin Pritchard Senior Research Fellow Rm 1.074, SAND, Institute for Energy Systems, School of Engineering and Electronics 
+44 131 650 4852
Colin.Pritchard@ed.ac.uk
Christina Rizou MasterCard Foundation Scholarship Program Administrative Assistant 4.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
0131 651 1476
christina.rizou@ed.ac.uk
Marlee Tichenor Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Usher Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics  marlee.tichenor@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Vaughan Honorary Fellow  vaughansarah@hotmail.com
Andrew Walls Honorary Professor  andrew.walls@ptsem.edu
David Wield Visiting Professor biotechnology,agriculture,Food Security,Policy,regulation,governance,development,innovation,health,Pharmaceuticals,Africa,capacity building,GM,India,interdisciplinarity,Research methods,Innovation in health care life sciences,development and global health,public-private collaboration in genomics and biotechnology 2.07 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 6385
david.wield@ed.ac.uk