Skip to main content

Centre of African Studies: People

Search

People

Honorary Fellows and Professors

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Deborah Bryceson Honorary Fellow settlement,urban economies,urban growth,social dynamics,occupational change,artisanal mining,changing nature of the family,transnational families,age and gender differentiation,women's employment patterns,food marketing,agricultural policy,famine and food insecurity,creole societies,work cultures,livelihoods,mobility,migration,labour,agrarian change,de-agrarianization  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 1865 292801
dfbryceson@bryceson.net
Joanna Härmä Honorary Fellow Early childhood education and care policies  Joanna.Harma@ed.ac.uk
Valeria Izzi Honorary Fellow Youth,International development,political economy of development,job creation,peacebuilding,conflict sensitive approaches to development,evidence-based development  valeria.izzi@ed.ac.uk
Katy Long Honorary Fellow, Centre of African Studies  katy.long@@stanford.edu
Kenneth King Professor Emeritus  +44 (0)1875 340 418
Kenneth.King@ed.ac.uk
Zoe Marks Peace and conflict,Rebellion and civil war,Gender and Development,Gender and Violence,International development,African studies,IR and Security studies,Comparative Politics  zoe.marks@ed.ac.uk
Wafula Okumu Honorary Fellow African security,African Union,African borderlands,Dispute Resolution,Rebel groups and insurgency  v1wokumu@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Ola Uduku Reader in architecture and Dean International for Africa at Edinburgh University’s School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (ESALA)  
No Photo Lorraine Porteous Honorary Fellow fragile states,Conflict & Post-Conflict Studies,MENA & Central Asia Security and Development Interventions,Stabilization,Global Health Policy,Health systems,Intercultural Communication,Intelligence,Conflict Resolution & Negotiation  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3878
v1lport2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Patrycja Stys Post-conflict reconstruction (state and social),Armed conflict,Forced migration,Informal economies and social innovation,Hybrid governance,African Studies,Comparative Politics,Refugee Studies,International Development,Security Studies  patrycja.stys@ed.ac.uk
Jo Vearey Associate Professor at the African Centre for Migration & Society, University of the Witwatersrand. Migration studies,South Africa  jovearey@gmail.com
Ed Wilmsen Honorary Fellow  anaw630@uts.cc.utexas.edu