Skip to main content

Centre of African Studies: People

Search

People

PhD Students

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Francisca Adom-Opare Monitoring and Evaluation,Data Disaggregation,Social Inclusion,Disability,Disablism,Disability Inclusion,Gender,Gender and Development,Gender Mainstreaming,Mixed Methods,Qualitative Research Methods,Intersectionality,Critical Feminism  F.A.Adom-Opare@ed.ac.uk
Aidan Barlow Political Economy of Oil,time and temporality,Tanzania,political geography,Political ecology,Global political economy,Extractive industries and resource governance,Politics of oil,natural gas,Resource Nationalism  s1666073@sms.ed.ac.uk
Arturo Delano African/Africana philosophy,Visual Culture,Forgiveness,Popular Culture,Motherhood,Feminism,Philosophical Anthropology,Politics of Skin,Feminist Film Theory,Opera,Afro-pessimism,History of Film,Black Jews,Deconstruction,Equine-assisted therapy,Black Masculinity,Haute couture,Surrealism  s1575287@sms.ed.ac.uk
Megan Harrington International Development,Gender and Development,Agriculture and Development,Livelihood,Labour,Land,Agribusiness,Global Value Chains,Global Production Networks,Rural Economy,Rural Development,Political Economy of Agriculture,Political Economy of International Development,Feminisms in Development and Economics,Ethnography,Anthropology,African Studies,Africa,Malawi,Sugar,Feminist Research,Decolonising approaches,Intersectionality  info@meganharrington.net; s1264507@ed.ac.uk
Lauren Engels Kenya,Political Economy,International Development,East Africa,Used Clothing,Second-Hand Clothing,Fashion,Kenyan Fashion  L.A.Engels@sms.ed.ac.uk
Elisa Gambino China,Kenya,political economy,Human Geography,East Africa,infrastructure,Chinese ODIs,China-Africa,Belt and Road Initiative,Transport corridors  elisa.gambino@ed.ac.uk; egambino@ed.ac.uk
Olivia Gieskes China,Development and Humanitarian Aid,Gender,Human Security in Africa,Medical Anthropology,Postcolonial Theory,Practice Theory,Sino-African relations,South-South cooperation  O.F.Gieskes@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tanja Hendriks Malawi,ethnography,Anthropology of the state,civil servants,disaster governance,relief interventions,Humanitarianism,Bureaucracy,everyday practices,Anthropology of development,state legitimacy,sovereignty,human security,Storytelling and ethnography,linguistic anthropology,Chichewa,time and temporality,emergency,crisis  T.D.Hendriks@sms.ed.ac.uk
Michaela Hubmann Anthropology of Global Health,Medical Anthropology,Health systems and global health,Health systems strengthening,Politics of health,Public health,Global Health Policy,State building,Forms of Citizenship,New forms of Manageralism,Time,temporality & chronicity,Global and Public Health Governance  M.Hubmann@ed.ac.uk
Juliet Wairimu Kariuki FMCG,International development,Global political economy,Research evaluation and the assessment of research impact,Monitoring and Evaluation,qualitative and mixed methods research projects using in-depth interviews,Quantitative Methods in Social Research,Gender and Development,African development  s1459169@sms.ed.ac.uk
Suvi Lensu Gender and Sexuality,Social Anthropology,Visual Anthropology,Borderlands,Women's livelihoods,Cosmopolitanism,Feminist Research,Sex Work,LGBTQ,Rwanda,East Africa,Latin America  S.M.H.Lensu@sms.ed.ac.uk
Francesco S. Longo  F.S.Longo@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ismaël Maazaz conflictual production of spaces,resource politics,African security,Chad,Politics of oil,Competing political imaginaries,Urban anthropology,Urban geography  +44 7 443069965
I.E.Maazaz@sms.ed.ac.uk
Brooks Marmon Zimbabwe,Southern Africa,West Africa,Liberia,Cold War,decolonization,higher education,Transnational History  s1667414@sms.ed.ac.uk
Francesco Moze Uganda,Democratic Republic of Congo,Great Lakes Region,Regional Integration,COMESA,Borders,Bordering,Borderlands,Borderscapes,Anthropology,Ethnography,Human Geography,Visual Methods  francesco.moze@ed.ac.uk
Ava Muhr Land Tenure Systems,Land Reform,Gender,Côte d’Ivoire,Post-conflict peacebuilding,Environmental anthropology,Women's livelihoods,Political and legal anthropology  ava.muhr@ed.ac.uk
Sokhna O. K. Ndoye Political economy of Africa,regional integration,cross-border transport corridors,logistics,transport facilitation,public debt,official development assistance and aid effectiveness,international economics.  s1791212@sms.ed.ac.uk
One Pusumane Decolonisation,ethnography,Feminism,Feminist institutionalism,Humanitarian intervention,gender mainstreaming,Migration and development,International Relations,Sociological Theory  O.Pusumane@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rebekah Thompson Neglected Zoonotic and Tropical Diseases,Livestock Research,Meat Eating,Pigs,Medical Anthropology,Helminths,Human-animal relationships,Veterinary Anthropology,One Health,East Africa  rebekah.thompson@ed.ac.uk
James Turing energy security,Environment,Global justice,Humanitarian intervention,Sustainability,ICT4D,Ghana,Malawi,Kenya,Scotland-Malawi Partnership,Light and power,solar energy and rural electrification,Recycling,Repair,repurposing,E-waste,Rural Development,Education for Sustainable Development,Entrepreneurship,social enterprise,Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR),Renewable Energy Systems  s0905388@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kamau Wairuri Political violence,African studies,African Politics,Urban margins,urban poor,Law and Social Order,Police Accountability,Sex Workers,Police and Policing,marginalization,Drug users,LGBTQ+,Kenyan Politics,East Africa,Informal settlements,Youth Empowerment in Africa,Police brutality,Criminal Justice  kamau.wairuri@ed.ac.uk