Skip to main content

Centre of African Studies: People

Search

People

PhD Students

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
No Photo Badejo Adedamola Folasade  A.F.Badejo@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Aidan Barlow African borderlands,African Great Lakes region,East Africa,Regionalism,Uganda,Rwanda,Democratic Republic of Congo  s1666073@sms.ed.ac.uk
Arturo Delano Albinism,Vitiligo,Piebaldism,Poliosis,African/Africana philosophy,Visual Culture,Forgiveness,Popular Culture,Motherhood,Globalization,Feminism,Philosophical Anthropology,Politics of Skin,Feminist Film Theory,Afro-pessimism  s1575287@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tobey Berriault Peace and conflict,Cote d'Ivoire,State building,Political mobilization  +44 (0) 7340850392
Tobey.Berriault@ed.ac.uk
Megan Canning International Development,Gender and Development,Agriculture,Livelihood,Work,Labour,Migration,Land,Agribusiness,Political Economy of Agroindustrial Development in Africa,Political Economy of International Development in Africa,Feminisms in Development and Economics,Economic Anthropology,Ethnography,Sugar Industry,Malawi  s1264507@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hannah Cook Microfinance,Monitoring and Evaluation,Impact Assessment,Malawi,Accountability,Women's livelihoods,local economic development,Power (domination, authority, legitimacy)  H.K.Cook@sms.ed.ac.uk
Michael Crawley Risk,ethnography,Migration and development,Youth,Long-distance running,Hope  +447881021184
s0786527@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tom Cunningham History,Colonial/imperial history,Historical Ethnography,Body,Britain,Kenya,Archives,Oral History,Everyday Life  tom.cunningham@ed.ac.uk
Elisa Gambino Belt and Road Initiative,China and East Asia,Emerging Economies,Transport Corridors  elisa.gambino@ed.ac.uk
Michaela Hubmann Anthropology of Global Health,Medical Anthropology,Health systems and global health,Health systems strengthening,Politics of health,Public health,Global Health Policy,State building,Forms of Citizenship,New forms of Manageralism,Time,temporality & chronicity,Global and Public Health Governance  M.Hubmann@ed.ac.uk
Maurice Hutton Zimbabwe,Southern Rhodesia,Late colonialism,Urban Governance,African Township Administration,High density housing,Beer monopoly finance,Colonial Bureaucracy,Propertied Citizenship  maurice.hutton@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ivan Cuesta-Fernandez Political Geography of infrastructure,Regional Geography,Comparative Politics  i.cuesta-fernandez@sms.ed.ac.uk
Juliet Wairimu Kariuki Informal Food provisioning systems,urban poverty,political economy of development,entrepreneurship,informal economy,East Africa  s1459169@sms.ed.ac.uk
Shona Jane Lee Infectious Disease,Parasitology,Spatial Analysis,GIS,Global Health,Evolutionary Medicine,Network Analysis,Technology Adoption,Neglected diseases and zoonoses,Data Science,Computational Biology,Ecology,Social Epidemiology,Vector-borne diseases,Medical Anthropology,Diagnosis,Public Private Partnerships,Public Health,Humanitarian health,Conflict and Health,Science,technology and development,STS,One Health  s.j.lee@ed.ac.uk
IsmaĆ«l Maazaz conflictual production of spaces,resource politics,African security,Chad,Politics of oil,Competing political imaginaries,Urban anthropology,Urban geography  +44 7 443069965
I.E.Maazaz@sms.ed.ac.uk
Brooks Marmon Zimbabwe,Southern Africa,West Africa,Liberia,Cold War,decolonization,higher education,Transnational History  s1667414@sms.ed.ac.uk
Henry Mitchell South Africa,Malawi,Britain,Labour History,Transnational History  henry.mitchell@ed.ac.uk
Declan Murray Electricity,Rubbish,Trash,Solar,Energy,Waste,Power,Design,Repair,Photovoltaics,E-waste,Maintenance,Infrastructure  s0804505@sms.ed.ac.uk
Monica Skaten  S1130466@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rebekah Thompson Neglected Zoonotic and Tropical Diseases,Livestock Research,Meat Eating,Pigs,Medical Anthropology,Helminths,Human-animal relationships,Veterinary Anthropology,One Health,East Africa  rebekah.thompson@ed.ac.uk
James Turing energy security,Environment,Global justice,Humanitarian intervention,Sustainability,ICT4D,Ghana,Malawi,Kenya,Scotland-Malawi Partnership,Light and power,solar energy and rural electrification,Recycling,Repair,repurposing,E-waste,Rural Development,Education for Sustainable Development,Entrepreneurship,social enterprise,Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR),Renewable Energy Systems  s0905388@sms.ed.ac.uk