Skip to main content

Centre of African Studies: People

Search

People

PhD Students

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
No Photo Badejo Adedamola Folasade  A.F.Badejo@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Aidan Barlow African borderlands,African Great Lakes region,East Africa,Regionalism,Uganda,Rwanda,Democratic Republic of Congo  s1666073@sms.ed.ac.uk
Arturo Delano  s1575287@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tobey Berriault Peace and conflict,Cote d'Ivoire,State building,Political mobilization  +44 (0) 7340850392
Tobey.Berriault@ed.ac.uk
Megan Canning International Development,Gender and Development,Agriculture,Livelihood,Work,Labour,Migration,Land,Agribusiness,Political Economy of Agroindustrial Development in Africa,Political Economy of International Development in Africa,Feminisms in Development and Economics,Economic Anthropology,Ethnography,Sugar Industry,Malawi  
Ismaila Ceesay  isceesay@hotmail.com, I.Ceesay@sms.ed.ac.uk
Peter Chonka Somalia,Political Islam,Popular Religion and Institutional Religion,nationalism and the post-colonial state in Africa,State-making,Horn of Africa,Political identities and citizenship,Ideology,Media and society  p.j.chonka@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hannah Cook Microfinance,Monitoring and Evaluation,Impact Assessment,Malawi,Accountability,Women's livelihoods,local economic development,Power (domination, authority, legitimacy)  H.K.Cook@sms.ed.ac.uk
Michael Crawley Risk,ethnography,Migration and development,Youth,Long-distance running,Hope  +447881021184
s0786527@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tom Cunningham History,Colonial/imperial history,Historical Ethnography,Body,Britain,Kenya,Archives,Oral History,Everyday Life  tom.cunningham@ed.ac.uk
Elisa Gambino Belt and Road Initiative,China and East Asia,Emerging Economies,Transport Corridors  s1127297@sms.ed.ac.uk
Michaela Hubmann Ebola,Neglected Zoonotic and Tropical Diseases,Anthropology of Global Health,Medical Anthropology,Health systems and global health,Global health governance  M.Hubmann@ed.ac.uk
Maurice Hutton Zimbabwe,Southern Rhodesia,Late colonialism,Urban Governance,African Township Administration,Urban citizenship,High density housing,Beer monopoly finance  maurice.hutton@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gianluca Iazzolino Refugee studies,Somalia,East Africa,Peace and conflict,ICT,Informal financial institutions,Kenya,Diaspora and transnationalism  g.iazzolino@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ivan Cuesta-Fernandez African politics,Sub-national regimes of electricity,Political Geography of infrastructure,Comparative Politics,Advocacy coalitions in sociotechnical transitions  i.cuesta-fernandez@sms.ed.ac.uk
Juliet Wairimu Kariuki Informal Food provisioning systems,urban poverty,political economy of development,entrepreneurship,informal economy,East Africa  s1459169@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Sixta Kilambo  +44 (0)131 6504688
Shona Jane Lee Infectious Disease,Parasitology,Spatial Analysis,GIS,Global Health,Evolutionary Medicine,Network Analysis,Technology Adoption,Neglected diseases and zoonoses,Data Science,Computational Biology  s.j.lee@ed.ac.uk
IsmaĆ«l Maazaz critical security studies,political economy of conflicts,conflictual production of spaces,North Africa-Central Africa borderlands,resource politics,African security,Chad,African and Latin American dynamics in comparative perspectives,Politics of oil,Competing political imaginaries,Urban anthropology,Urban geography  +44 7 443069965
I.E.Maazaz@sms.ed.ac.uk
Robert Macdonald Tanzania,Politics,Voter Behaviour,Elections,Election Monitoring,African History  +44(0)7795434382
s0096189@sms.ed.ac.uk
Mariama Khan International development,Institutions and institutional change,International Relations,ethnography,identity politics,Political Theology & Religio-Politics,Policy,Regionalism,popular culture,Social change,conflict resolution,African borderlands,Transport,Trade,Religion And Ritual  M.Khan-9@sms.ed.ac.uk
Brooks Marmon Zimbabwe,Southern Africa,West Africa,Liberia,Cold War,decolonization,higher education,Transnational History  s1667414@sms.ed.ac.uk
Laura S. Martin Sierra Leone,Transitional Justice,Conflict and Post-Conflict Studies,Local ownership,Participation,Uganda,Rwanda,Mozambique,Memory Politics,Notions of truth,justice and reconciliation,Ritual reconciliation,Truth Commissions,genocide,local NGOs,violence and conflict,ICC politics in Africa,Hissene Habre case,Fambul Tok International  S1260530@sms.ed.ac.uk
Henry Mitchell South Africa,Malawi,Britain,Labour History,Transnational History  https://edinburgh.academia.edu/HenryMitchell
henry.mitchell@ed.ac.uk
Declan Murray Electricity,Rubbish,Trash,Mapping,Visualisation,Solar,Energy,Waste,Power,Design,Repair,Photovoltaics,E-waste,Maintenance  s0804505@sms.ed.ac.uk
Thina Nzo Political representation,Local Government,Local party politics,Policy,gender and political institutions  +4477 69766802
thina.nzo@gmail.com
Mabutho Xolani Shangase South African Public Policy,Post-Apartheid State,Neoliberalism,Discourse Analysis,Public Policy Theory  +44 (0) 755 439 1518
G.M.Shangase@sms.ed.ac.uk
Monica Skaten  S1130466@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rebekah Thompson Neglected Zoonotic and Tropical Diseases,Livestock Research,Meat Eating,Pigs,Medical Anthropology,Helminths,East Africa,Human-animal relationships,Institutions and institutional change  rebekah.thompson@ed.ac.uk
James Turing energy security,Environment,Global justice,Humanitarian intervention,Sustainability,ICT4D,Ghana,Malawi,Kenya,Scotland-Malawi Partnership,Light and power,solar energy and rural electrification,Recycling,Repair,repurposing,E-waste,Rural Development,Education for Sustainable Development,Entrepreneurship,social enterprise,Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR),Renewable Energy Systems  s0905388@sms.ed.ac.uk